About the University of Illinois System

System & University Info & Highlights

  • The University of Illinois System is among the preeminent public university systems in the nation and constantly strives to sustain and enhance its quality in teaching, research, public service, healthcare, and economic development.
  • Founded in 1867, the U of I System has three universities located in Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), Chicago (UIC), and Springfield (UIS), as well as health professions regional campuses in Rockford and Peoria.
  • The U of I System also has a Medical School and Affiliated Medical Center in Chicago with the nation’s second largest college of medicine, and colleges of dentistry, pharmacy, public health, nursing, social work, and applied health sciences. Twenty percent of physicians practicing in Illinois are graduates of the UI College of Medicine.
  • The breadth and quality of the U of I System's interdisciplinary curriculum and programs attracts the nation's most talented students. As the state's largest system of higher education, enrollment at the three main universities and regional campuses has grown steadily in recent years.
  • The U of I System is renowned for world-class research that provide solutions to real-world problems generated through exploration, collaboration, and innovation. The U of I System's faculty scholars and researchers attract grants and contracts that range from tens of thousands of dollars to multi-year, multi-million dollar projects.
  • The economic impact of the U of I System provides a positive return for students, taxpayers, and society at large. Through strategic partnerships for innovation, talent retention, and physical and intellectual assets the U of I System is a leader in driving economic prosperity for the people of Illinois.
  • The U of I System is dedicated to amplifying its excellence in education, research, civic engagement and service, and economic development that will secure its role as a force for transformation and revitalization, throughout our state and around the world.

Board Description

  • The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois is the governing body for the University of Illinois System. The Board has 13 members, 11 of whom have official votes. The Governor of the State of Illinois serves as an ex-officio member. Nine are appointed by the Governor for six year terms, and three student trustees (one from each university) are elected by their campus for one-year terms.
  • Additional Board information, including member biographies and meeting agendas, can be found on the Board's website.

Last reviewed: January 11, 2024